SEO Tips

Hello World!

SEO, SEO, SEO… a concept that seems so simple, or does it? I guess it all depends on who you talk to. Personally, SEO is the most difficult part of online marketing for me to wrap my head around. This is probably because I’m a very visual person and I don’t know that there is a way to make a graphic to clear explain something as complex as the way search and the internet works but if you don’t think like me, SEO is really very simple (according to my friend Michael, owner of @HYPDMedia). As I have mentioned a few times, I am taking a series of courses to gain my digital marketing certification. This means that I am exposed to many great minds in my teachers. The best way that I have seen SEO put goes something like this:

“The best metaphor I’ve come across to explain how search works is the New York subway system. Each train is a “spider” or “web crawler” sent out by the search engine to retrieve information. Each station is a document (be it a webpage, PDF, image, etc.) containing information that may or may not be relevant to your particular search. If there is appropriate information at that station, the train picks up passengers. If not, it speeds right by. At the end of the journey, you are delivered the best possible results based on what that engine’s spiders have found. “

This was an excerpt from the notes of one of my Mediabistro courses but it does explain SEO pretty well- it paints a pictures (sort of), at least.

Anyway, as much as one may or may not understand SEO, this is a great website for some SEO Tips (via another Mediabistro professor). Check it out and let me know if this was helpful!

