The Social Media Break Up Letter

I came across this on Twitter today. “Social Media Break Up” was what initially caught my eye but then I realized that it was written by one of the girls that I had studied abroad with in London, Amanda Dodge (@amandaedodge). She had submitted this letter for a chance at a scholarship from the Student FRPA Chapter at FSU (my alma mater). Please take a few minutes to read this- it’s hilarious and so on point!

I know that this post strays slightly from the meaning of this blog, to be informative, but heck, it’s almost Friday! Enjoy a laugh!

 

A break-up letter to social media

Dear Social Media,

It’s not you, it’s me. I just need some space. We’ve spent a lot of time together this past year, and I want some time off. Frankly, you’re a little clingy.

Oh Social Media don’t be mad. We’ve just been moving too fast. Remember when we first started? When I signed up Twitter, Foursquare and Tumblr because it seemed like the right thing to do? I didn’t know what I was getting into at the time. I thought all PR majors had twitter accounts; I just
wanted to blend in.

From the beginning our relationship was toxic. You demanded to know what I was thinking and made me check-in wherever I went. I anxiously waited for your replies, or even for you to mention me in passing. My self confidence tanked when you didn’t give me this validation. I started to ignore my
friends and spent more and more time with you.

Despite your constant changes and updates I stood by you. I heartily supported any new phase and undertaking you went through. Our relationship divided my friends into circles and lists and I had to rely on you to tell me about their lives. You invaded my privacy and shared my information with
everyone. Yet through all this, I became obsessed with gaining your approval.

When I wasn’t with you, I read blogs about you. I wanted to work with you and sought internships where you were the concentration. I spent hours analyzing your comments. Do I talk too much? What did I say that was wrong? What can I say to make you love me?

I attend events you made. I talked like a pirate, I went out of my way to step on crunchy leaves and I watched cat videos – so many cat videos. Even though I gave and gave, your return on investment was marginal.

Even when I had my doubts, my friends told me to stand by you. My professors told me that once I had your approval, I could feel secure. You were my future.

But Social Media, I have had enough, it’s time for me to go. You can stay, and I know you’ll go on without me, but I need a break. I know I should be happy with you but I’m not. This isn’t why I went into PR. I need a break, to go back to my roots and work in traditional Public Relations. Maybe someday I’ll
return, and maybe I won’t be so dependent on you.

Until then, Goodbye.

-Amanda

